

45th Annual DEW Economic Policy Conference 16/17 September 2022

Supported by Dublin Chamber

Schedule

Organising Committee:

Barra Roantree
Dermot O'Leary
Yvonne McCarthy
Aebhric McGibney
Seán Prior
Ronan Lyons
Jenny Connors
Ciarán Mac An Bhaird





Friday 16th September

Registration from 12.00, McClure Suite Lobby

McClure Suite 2

13:00 Conference Opening and Welcome

13.05 Policy prescriptions for a high inflation economy

Minister Michael McGrath, DPER

Danny McCoy, IBEC

Gillian Phelan, Central Bank of Ireland

Chair: Dermot O'Leary

14.45 Tea/Coffee

15.00 Addressing poverty and inequality in Ireland

Seamus Coffey, UCC Barra Roantree, ESRI Lisa Wilson, NERI Helen Johnston, NESC

Chair: Yvonne McCarthy

16:45 Supply-side Economics: Capacity & potential for the Irish

Economy

Annette Hughes, EY Rinku Phulphagar, DPER

Colm McCarthy

Chair: David Maloney, DPER

18:30 William Petty Lecture – Keynote address

Sebastian Barnes, IFAC.

Introduced by: Ronan Lyons





20.30 Dinner in restaurant

Saturday 17th September

McClure Suite 2

9.30 Housing – Is the supply deficit worsening?

Eoin Corrigan, Housing Researcher Peter O'Connor, Dept of Health Anthony Leddin, UL Robert Sweeney, TASC

Chair: Rachel Slaymaker, ESRI

11.00 Tea/Coffee

11.15 Health reform in Ireland: Delivering better health for Ireland

Sara Burke, TCD Martin Curley, Health Service Executive Eddie Casey, IFAC Carole Glynn, LIT

Chair: Mary Rose Burke

13.00 Lunch provided, Terrace Restaurant

McClure Suite 2

14.00 The Future of Banking in Ireland

Brian Hayes, BPFI Marion Kelly, Chair Irish Banking Culture Board Harald Felzen, Deutsche Sparkassenstiftung

Chair: Ciarán Mac an Bhaird





McClure Suite 2

16.00 Energy Supply

John Fitzgerald, Climate Change Advisory Council Edwina Nyhan, Gas Networks Ireland Muireann Á Lynch, ESRI Evan Walker, IGEES

Chair: Aebhric McGibney

McClure Suite 2

17.45 Cantillon Lecture

Philip Lane Chief Economist, ECB

Introduced by: Robert Shortt, RTÉ

