

46th Annual DEW Economic Policy Conference 22/23 September 2023 at Clayton Whites Hotel, Wexford.

Supported by Dublin Chamber

Schedule

Organising Committee:

Rowena Dwyer
Ciarán Mac An Bhaird
Yvonne McCarthy
Aebhric McGibney
Dermot O'Leary
Seán Prior
Barra Roantree





Friday 22 September

Registration from 12.00

McCarthy Suite

13.00 Petty Lecture – Keynote address

Pearse Doherty, TD

Chair: Jude Webber

14:15 The state of economics, the planet and wellbeing

Frank Barry, TCD. Anne Ryan, Feasta. Fiachra Kennedy, DPER.

Chair: Barra Roantree

15:45 Tea/Coffee

16.15 Labour Market Dynamics

Harry Williamson & Dermot Coates, Dept Enterprise. Tara McIndoe Calder, Central Bank of Ireland.

Orla Mannion, Dublin Chamber

Michael Doherty, Maynooth University.

Chair: Aebhric McGibney

17:45 Managing Domestic risks in an uncertain world.

Vasileios Madouros, Central Bank of Ireland.

Frances Ruane, National Competitiveness and Productivity Council.

Kieran McQuinn, ESRI.

Chair: Yvonne McCarthy





Oscar Wilde Suite

20.15 **Dinner in restaurant**

Saturday 23th September

McCarthy Suite

9.30 How can we activate land for housing delivery.

Robert Sweeney, TASC.

Claragh Mulhern, Dept. Housing. James Benson, Cairn Homes.

Chair: Dermot O'Leary

11.00 Tea/Coffee

McCarthy Suite

11.15 Globalisation and the Irish Economy

> Karen Hogan & Dermot Coates, Dept Enterprise. Akisato Suzuki, Parliamentary Budget Office.

Breda O'Sullivan, I.D.A.

Chair: Rowena Dwyer

12:45 **Lunch (provided)**



McCarthy Suite

14.00 Climate Change: Do we have the correct institutions in place?

Laura Burke, Environmental Protection Agency.

Jillian Mahon, Climate Change Advisory Council.

Róisín Garvey, Green Party Senator.

Eamon Haughey, Atlantic Technological University.

Chair: Ciarán Mac an Bhaird.

McCarthy Suite

16.00 Cantillon Lecture

Niamh Moloney, LSE.

Chair: Robert Shortt.

17:30 END

